Patrol Filter

Keeping up with all of the changes coming to Scouting from now through early 2019

Posted on Jun 16 2018 - 11:11pm

2018 and 2019 will see many changes to Scouting from the Lions Program and welcoming girls to Cub Scouting this year, to the start of Scouts BSA and girl troops forming in early 2019.

There is also the all new YPT online course that every registered adult must complete by September 30, 2018 in order to participate and remain registered in Scouting.

To keep up with all that is happening BSA has made various resources available, and here are a few that will help you understand and become familiar with the changes affecting the area of the Scouting Program you are involved with.

Family Scouting Q and A for June 12, 2018: Cub Scouts - Boy Scouts/Scouts BSA - Order of the Arrow - Adult Supervision/Youth Protection

What You Need to Know About Lions Integrating With Cub Scouts.

The new "YPT2" course, and how to access the online training. (Your completion Certificate will now be emailed to the address used to set up your my.scouting account)

If you have questions your Unit Commissioner is your first resource for answers and guidance.
And, Thank You for all you do for the Scouts in your Unit and in our Silver Comet District.

Internet Advancement to be replaced by Scoutbook Lite

Posted on May 12 2018 - 8:16pm

BSA is planning to replace Internet Advancement with Scoutbook Lite (SBL) in mid - 2018.
Though the pay version of Scoutbook can be synchronized to interface with Scoutbook Lite which is a free application, third party programs such as Packmaster, Troopmaster, etc. will not initially do so.

Cubmasters, Scoutmasters, Unit Committee Chairs and Advancement Coordinators, please familiarize yourselves with the resources below so you will be ready to transition your Unit to Scoutbook Lite advancement reporting when BSA initiates the transition and retires Internet Advancement.

The actual transition date will be widely publicized when it is announced.

BSA Initial Scoutbook Lite announcement: https://scoutingwire.org/scoutbook-lite-replace-internet-advancement-2018/

Jan 12, 2018. Scoutbook Blog information on Scoutbook Lite: https://www.scoutbook.com/mobile/blog/84/scoutbook-lite-to-replace-internet-advancement-but-not-scoutbook/

Atlanta Area Council Advancement Committee - Internet Advancement to Scoutbook Lite transition information.

New BSA Youth Protection Training (YPT2) Introduced March 2018.

Posted on Mar 24 2018 - 7:02pm

Safe Scouting practices and youth protection are at the heart of the Boy Scouts of America and the Atlanta Area Council’s mission.
In order to continue providing a safe and secure environment for today’s youth, the Boy Scouts of America have developed a new version of the Youth Protection Training program to be taken by all BSA volunteers and staff.
The new training, which is fully supported and endorsed by the Atlanta Area Council, launched to the public this month and covers all BSA Program areas (Cub Scouts, Boy Scouts, Venturing, Exploring).

All registered leaders must complete the new YPT2 training by October 1, 2018.

For a guide to taking the new Training on my.scouting.org click here.

For the Atlanta Area Council's full announcement, including "five things you need to know about the launch of the new Youth Protection Training" click here.

2017 Silver Comet District Award of Merit Recipients

Posted on Mar 16 2018 - 5:26pm

At our 4th Annual Silver Comet District Awards Banquet on Thursday March 8th, three of our most engaged and deserving Scouters were honored with the District Award of Merit.

Mike Calvert, our long serving and popular Activities and Civic Service Chair, Samantha Schuster, our truly dedicated and super motivated Training Chair, and David Stockwell, one of our longest serving, consistent, and enthusiastic District Eagle Board Chairs were recognized for their many years of outstanding service to the Scouts and Scouters in their Units, in our District, and in our Council.
The time, experience, and expertise these three individuals have so generously devoted to Scouting over the years have brought many memorable experiences and the true Spirit of Scouting to the Scouts, and to their fellow Scouters throughout our District.

Congratulations to Mike, Samantha, and David, and Thank You from all of us for your outstanding contributions to Scouting, and to our Silver Comet Scouts.

2017 Silver Comet District Conductor Awards

Posted on Mar 9 2018 - 7:30pm

Each year at our Annual Awards Banquet the Silver Comet District recognizes those individuals nominated by their Unit as having gone “Above and Beyond” to provide the best Scouting experience to the Youth in their Pack, Troop, Crew, or Team.

These individuals are presented with the unique Silver Comet District Conductor’s Award Pin and a certificate of appreciation from all of us in the Silver Comet District. Whenever you see one of our “Conductors” please thank them for their dedication to Scouting and to the Youth we serve.

On behalf of the Silver Comet District Committee, our Commissioner Corps, your fellow Scouters, and especially our Scouts,

Congratulations and Thank You to all of our “Conductors”

Those Special individuals selected by their Units for 2017 are listed at “read more”.

Silver Comet District Welcomes New District Executive Hubert Snow

Posted on Mar 1 2018 - 11:21pm

The Atlanta Area Council is pleased to announce that Hubert Snow has been promoted to the position of District Executive serving the Silver Comet District effective March 1, 2018. Hubert will be responsible for providing leadership in the areas of service to Silver Comet Cub Scout Packs, Boy Scout Troops and Venturing Crews, in addition to providing support for youth recruiting efforts and fundraising including Friends of Scouting, The Trail’s End Popcorn Sale and the Camp Card sale under the direction of Field Director, Lew Sisson.

Hubert joined the Atlanta Area Council in June 2017 as District Executive serving the Exploring Program working in partnership with businesses, organizations and government agencies to provide youth with opportunities for real-world, hands-on career experiences.

Hubert is a graduate of the University of Alabama at Birmingham where he earned a Bachelor of Arts in History. An Eagle Scout, Hubert served as Assistant Scoutmaster for Troop 312 in Cahaba Heights, Alabama.

The Silver Comet District welcomes Hubert, and we look forward to working with him as he joins our tireless Drew Doherty to bring great Scouting to the Youth and families of our District.

Silver Comet District